Black Mystery month is here. Growing up in this country allowed me to learn a few things about the civil rights movement here in America, but when it came to the history of Africans, this ws never taught. I remember struggling with my math homework and my godfather informed me that black people invented math. After that day, I felt confident in the classroom and eventually learned enough math to give me an A in the class.

It’s all about confidence. The honorable Marcus Garvey said that without confidence, you have been twice defeated in the race of life, but with confidence, you have won even before you have stared. The reason I’m writing this is to express my frustration of the American school system around this time of the year. Black history cannot be taught in one month alone. 

