e917808a8da0c11c979d5110

I was having a conversation with a co-worker, and the discussion went from sports to health, then to education. I shared my aspirations with him and informed him that I was a journalism major. To my surprise, he was shocked and responded in a way that caused me to explain our ancestry.

“Journalism?” he said. “Wow, that’s good man. Black people usually don’t write good.”

“Are you serious?” I said. “Africans, Black people, write well.

He noticed his comment hit home so he tried to explain, but I spoke over his explanation.

“Listen,” I said. “Becoming a good writer just takes some practice, and if you knew your history, you would know that Africans, Black people, invented and used some of the earliest scripts.”

Even though a lot of their manuscripts were sabotaged in the razing of Timbuktu, and by burning Moorish documents in Granada, there is evidence available that proves Africans developed and used a writing system before the holocaust. Hieroglyphics in Egypt is another example.

Above is a picture of a book called Blacks in Science by Ivan Van Sertima that examines many cases of Africans, Black people, in science and more. ENJOY.

